Broughton House and Gardens.

Broughton House is an 18th-century town house standing on the High Street of Kirkcudbright in the southwest of Scotland. Constructed in 1734 as two houses until Kirkcudbright Provost and local MP Alexander Murray purchased the property in 1740 when he revamped and rebuilt it into one house. It had various owners after the Murray family sold it in 1756 including the 5th Earl of Selkirk.
The Gallery.
Designed by Glasgow architect John Keppie who slotted the new room into the structure of the existing building. Designed primary for the display of the artists paintings and sculptures although this became the main reception room in the house. 

The very first room to be altered when Hornel purchased the house.
Also designed by Keppie it was where Hornel did most of his work until his death in 1933.  

The house is now best known today as the home of the Scottish artist Edward Atkinson Hornel who lived and worked there from 1901 until his death in 1933. It was in this building that he dedicated his life to his four main passions -painting, Kirkcudbright, the local area, his Japanese-influenced garden and his library.

A small part of the garden

The River Dee.
The gardens, which back onto the River Dee, were laid out by Hornel and his sister and cover an area of around 2 acres. The Japanese garden includes a rockery and a pond with stepping stones, while closer to the river a series of beds are divided by box hedging. A number of 17th-century and 18th-century sundials are sited in the garden, as well as late 17th-century carved stone gatepost

Since 1950 the house and grounds have been in the care of the National Trust for Scotland who have maintained it as ‘a living museum of Hormel’s life and work’ including the garden which is included on the Inventory of Gardens and Designed Landscapes in Scotland.

Classic cars in Kirkcudbright Sunday 28th August 2016.

A Wolsley. 

Morris Traveller.

Early Ford Prefect.

The Morgan.


No comments:

Post a Comment