A short stop over in this ancient royal burgh gave us a chance to have our lunch at the side of the Loch, which is situated next to this county towns main landmark the Linlithgow Palace.
The palace was one of the principal residences of the monarchs of Scotland in the 15th and 16th centuries. Although maintained after Scotland's monarchs left for England in 1603, the palace was little used, and was burned out in 1746. It is now a visitor attraction in the care of Historic Scotland.
Also included is a picture of the town’s busy main square.